Double click to enlarge

Drab Majesty - The Demonstration

CD / Album
Availability: Only a few remaining
€ 14


CD edition features two additional bonus tracks as well as four exclusive remixes by Cold Cave, Drew McDowall, Silent Servant and Martial Canterel.

Drab Majesty began as a warbled transmission received via 4-track cassette in a dim, Los Angeles bedroom in 2012. The entity known as Deb Demure, an interdimensional muse of sorts, lent an otherworldly vision to a human contact; one to be realized through meticulously composed lo-fi recordings. Focusing on the aesthetics of cult ritual and the devastating power of music, Deb sought an alternative way to share the cosmic agenda. Culminating in a cassette titled Unarian Dances, Drab Majesty’s manifesto to humanity was revealed: revel in the power of artistic influences that reside beyond the self.

The tape circulated through Los Angeles, catching the attention of local tastemakers like the heads at Lollipop Records in Echo Park. It quickly found a place on the shelves of LA’s underground musical seekers. After a gauntlet of performances and late night manifestations, Drab Majesty came on the radar of DAIS Records.

In 2015, Drab Majesty released Careless, the first LP which was received and recorded solely by Demure on living room floors and in cluttered spaces across the city. After three pressings and an imminent fourth, Careless remains a fixture in LA’s somber yet sublime nightlife and a noted contribution to the murkier subcultures abroad.

Wielding a left-handed guitar, Deb employs a unique style of arpeggiated finger picking, producing vast and organic musical textures reminiscent of Vinny Reilly (Durutti Column) with the anthemic power of Sisters of Mercy and Cocteau Twins. In the past two years Deb has been invited to support bands such as Cold Cave, Psychic TV, Clan of Xymox, The Frozen Autumn, Prayers, and label mates Youth Code and King Dude.

From its incarnation, Drab Majesty was a solo act; an interplay between guitar and triggered machines. In 2016, with growing audiences and heightened interest, Drab expanded into a duo, employing the keyboard accompaniment of far-out twin, Mona D – filling out frequencies and upping the spectacle of the live performance.

Format CD / Album
Genre(s) New Wave, Postpunk, Shoegaze, Darkwave
Label Dais
Catalogue No. DAIS090
Release Date 20/01/2017
Barcode 646263945490
Country USA
  • 1 Induction 0:58
  • 2 Dot In The Sky 5:26
  • 3 39 By Design 5:00
  • 4 Not Just A Name 6:02
  • 5 Hath No Form 2:44
  • 6 Too Soon To Tell 4:07
  • 7 Cold Souls 5:25
  • 8 A Spire Points At the Heavens 1:07
  • 9 Kissing The Ground 3:47
  • 10 Forget Tomorrow 4:53
  • 11 Behind The Wall 6:05
  • 12 Too Soon To Tell (Cold Cave Remix) 5:22
  • 13 Forget Tomorrow (Drew McDowall Remix) 5:34
  • 14 39 By Design (Martial Canterel Remix) 4:48
  • 15 Kissing The Ground (Silent Servant Remix) 4:09

Related Products